Under the High Patronage of
Mr Emmanuel MACRON
President of the French Republic

Plenary Sessions Program

Keynote addresses by our Main Strategic Partners: 

Gala evening: TBC, Engie
Opening Session: Mr. Patrick Pouyanné, CEO, Total
Closing Session: Mr. Jean Bernard Levy, CEO, EDF 

Date Time Session
Monday 5 July
9:00 - 10:30 Opening Plenary Session

Presiding: Prof. Yannick Perez, IAEE 2020 International Conference General Chair

Prof. Catherine Wolfram, UC Berkeley, Haas School of Business

Mr. Patrick Pouyanné, CEO, Total

Mr. Fatih Birol, Executive Director, International Energy Agency

Monday 5 July 11:00 - 12:30 Dual Plenary 1: The Role of Gas in Energy Transition

Presiding: Associate Professor Olivier Massol, IFP School

Prof. Masakazu Toyoda, Chairman & CEO, Institute of Energy Economics, Japan (IEEJ)

Dr. Tatiana Mitrova, Research Scholar, Center on Global Energy Policy, Columbia University

Prof. Charles Mason, University of Wyoming

Mr. Dominique Mockly, President and Director, Terega

Monday 5 July
11:00 - 12:30 Dual Plenary 2: Shared Autonomous Electric Mobility: Triple Revolution

Presiding: Prof. Ramteen Sioshansi, Ohio State University, College of Engineering

Prof. Daniel Sperling, UC Davis

Prof. Willett Kempton, University of Delaware

Ms. Brigitte Courtehoux, Executive Vice President, FREE2MOVE, PSA Groupe

Tuesday 6 July
9:00 - 10:30 Dual Plenary 3: Energy Access

Presiding: Prof. Anna Creti, Université Paris-Dauphine

Prof. Ignacio Pérez-Arriaga, MIT
An integrated distribution framework to accelerate electricity access in the developing world

Prof. Jörg Peters, Research with Impact - RWI, ESSEN

Mr. Yves Maigne, Director, Fondem Paris

Tuesday 6 July 9:00 - 10:30 Dual Plenary 4: Women in Energy Transition

Presiding: Senior Fellow and Director Amy M. Jaffe Council on Foreign Relations

Ms. Teresa Ribeira, Minister of Energy, Spain 

Prof. Laurence Tubiana, Sciences Po PSIA

Ms. Sophie Mourlon, Energy Director, Ministery of the Ecological and Inclusive Transition

Tuesday 6 July 14:00 - 15:30 Dual Plenary 5: The Future of Carbon Pricing

Presiding: Prof. Christian de Perthuis, Université Paris-Dauphine

Ms. Beatriz Yordi, Director, DG Climate Action, Directorate "European & International Carbon Markets", European Commission

Prof. Ottmar Edenhofer, Director, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact, TU Berlin

Mr. Stéphane Hallegate, Lead Economist, Climate Change Group, Worldbank

Tuesday 6 July
14:00 - 15:30 Dual Plenary 6: Oil

Presiding: Mr. Adam Sieminski, President, Kapsarc

Dr. Bassam Fattouh, Director of the Oxford Institute for Energy Studies

Dr. Helen Currie, Chief Economist, ConocoPhillips Corporation

Prof. Franziska Holz, DIW Berlin

Wednesday 7 July
11:00 - 12:30 Dual Plenary 7: Energy Transition and Local Gouvernance

Presiding: Prof. Michael Pollitt, Cambridge University 

Ms. Marianne Laigneau, President, Enedis

Prof. Matthew E. Kahn, Johns Hopkins University

Prof. Michael Caramanis, Boston University
Title: The Value Proposition of Understanding and Employing Electricity Distribution Network Location-and-Time-Specific Marginal Costs

Prof. Anna Alberini, University of Maryland

Wednesday 7 July
11:00 - 12:30 Dual Plenary 8: The Future Energy Mix

Presiding: Prof. Keigo Akimoto, RITE

Ms. Laura Cozzi, Chief Modeller, IEA, World Energy Outlook

Mr. Thomas Veyrenc, Head of Strategy and Planning, RTE Prospective, Expertise et Solution

Prof. Karsten Neuhoff, DIW Berlin
Title: How industry policy determines the future energy mix

Wednesday 7 July
16:00 - 17:30 Closing Plenary Session

Presiding: Christophe Bonnery, President IAEE 2019

Ms. Elisabeth Borne, Minister of the Ecological and Inclusive Transition, France

Dr. Hoesung Lee, President, IPCC

Mr. Jean-Bernard Levy, CEO, EDF